About Us

Consistently, celebrities, renowned chiefs, and other entertainment world heavyweights meet up at the Cannes Film Festival to praise a portion of the year’s best films. Created as an option in contrast to the Vienna Film Festival, the Cannes Film Festival has gotten one of the most celebrated worldwide film celebrations on the planet.

First Cannes Film Festival

Everything started on Sept. 1, 1939, yet was dropped the following day because of the start of World War II. From Sept. 20 to Oct. 5, 1946, the primary authority celebration was held at a previous gambling club in Cannes, France. 46 motion pictures were screened here, and eleven of those movies won the Grand Prix of the International Film Festival that year. Celebrated movies that contended in that year included “Famous” by Alfred Hitchcock, “The Lost Weekend” by Billy Wilder, and “Gilda” by Charles Vidor. Nine different honors in various classifications were given, including a prize for best chief, the International Jury Prize, and the FIPRESCI Prize.

Palais des Festivals

In 1949, the Cannes celebration was held in another structure exceptionally intended for the occasion. The Palais des Festivals, likewise called the Palais Croisette, lost its incomplete rooftop because of high breezes the principal year it was utilized. Following a couple of many years, the expanded ubiquity of Cannes prompted the requirement for extra space. In 1979, authorities chose to manufacture another Palais des Festivals. The new structure was first utilized for the 1982 celebrations and was extended in 1999. As of now, the Palais des Festivals has eighteen amphitheaters and 25,000 square feet of room for displays.

The Palme d’Or

Until 1954, the top prize gave at Cannes was the Grand Prix of the International Film Festival. Every year, this honor was spoken to by an alternate figure planned by a contemporary craftsman. In 1954, authorities chose to make the Palme d’Or as a recognition for the emblem of the City of Cannes to fill in for the first honor. The governing body for the celebration approached diamond setters to submit plans for the new honor. Lucienne Lazon’s plan was picked, and a prize was made by craftsman Sébastien. Chief Delbert Mann won the main Palme d’Or in 1955 for his film “Marty.”

Starting in 1964, Cannes authorities chose to grant the Grand Prix of the International Film Festival rather than the Palme d’Or. In any case, the directorate turned around their choice in 1975 and by and by chose to utilize the Palme d’Or. The 1975 Palme d’Or was altered from the first 1955 form and was introduced in a red calfskin case with a white softened cowhide inside. Despite the fact that the plan of Palme d’Or has been altered a few times since its 1975 renewed introduction, it actually holds its famous leaf plan.

Throughout the long term, widely praised chiefs, for example, Roman Polanski, Robert Altman, and Martin Scorsese, have won the Palme d’Or. New Zealand chief Jane Campion won a Palme d’Or for her 1993 movie “The Piano.” She remains the main female chief to win the honor.

Six male chiefs have won the Palme d’Or twice. Francis Ford Copolla won for “The Conversation” in 1974 and “End of the world Now” in 1979. Michael Hanake, Emir Kusturica, Bille August, Shoei Imamura, and the Dardenne siblings are different chiefs who have accomplished this achievement.

Different Prizes

While the Palme d’Or is viewed as the most lofty honor, twenty movies picked to contend at Cannes can be perceived with at least one of seven different prizes. The Grand Prix, which was once called the Grand Prix Spécial du Jury, was first granted in 1967. It is viewed as the second most lofty honor. The Prix du Jury is viewed as the third most esteemed honor and has been granted ceaselessly since 1969.

Best screenplay, best entertainer, best entertainer, best chief, and best screenplay prizes are likewise granted to different movies formally picked to contend at the celebration. Different prizes might be granted to films other than the twenty picked to formally contend at Cannes. These prizes incorporate Caméra d’Or for best first component film and the Cinéfondation prizes for understudy works.